About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC News » News

Published: 6/19/2015

2015 SESAC Latina Music Awards Recognizes the Best of Contemporary Music at the Historic Beverly Hills Hotel

Top Highlights Include:

  • Luciano Luna for Songwriter of the Year; “Te Hubieras Ido Antes” by Luciano Luna for Song of The Year; Dulce María Music for Publisher of the Year 

  • Fonseca is Presented with the SESAC Latina Contemporary Icon Award 

  • Fonseca, Nicky Jam and Noel Torres Performed at This Year’s Gala Celebrating the Creativity of SESAC LATINA’S Songwriters and Publishers

Wednesday, June 17, 2015 was a fabulous evening for Latin music at the star-studded SESAC Latina Music Awards annual gala. The boutique performing rights organization, celebrated the achievements of its members, songwriters, publishers and affiliates at the historic Beverly Hills Hotel. SESAC’s Senior Vice President Trevor Gale, opened the evening with a welcome speech and Awards were presented by J. J. Cheng, Vice President of SESAC Latina, and Celeste Zendejas, Director.
SESAC Latina’s Songwriter of the Year, which is determined by the top charting singles, was awarded to Luciano Luna, whose compositions have been recently recorded by artists such as Julion Alvarez y su Norteño Banda, Luis Coronel, Calibre 50, Noel Torres among many others.
Song of the Year, a category in which the winner is determined by the duration of the song’s performance on the charts, was awarded to “Te Hubieras ido Antes”, recorded by Julion Alvarez and written by Luciano Luna. Publisher of the Year was Dulce Maria Music, which has a catalog of songs recorded by artists such as Calibre 50 and Banda Carnaval.
The evening’s performances began with 3x Latin Grammy winning Colombian superstar Fonseca. Following a standing ovation at the end of his set, Fonseca was presented with a plaque for his #1 song “Juntos”, which he co-wrote with fellow Colombian, Juanes. Later in the evening, Fonseca was presented with the the prestigious SESAC Latina Contemporary Icon Award, the first of its kind given by the organization.
The evening continued with a performance by Noel Torres, who has recently been called “The New Idol of Regional Mexican Music” and who has been rocketing up Latin charts with his newest album La Balanza. The superstar performed a medley of his hits, “Para que tantos besos”, “Me interesas” and “Adivina”, as a tribute to SESAC Songwriter of the Year, Luciano Luna. After receiving the award for Song of the Year, Luciano Luna thanked SESAC Latina, his colleagues, his family, but most important of all, he thanked all the artists that have recorded his songs.
Nicky Jam, one of the pioneers of the urban music movement and a winner of the YouTube award for his song “El Perdón,” 115 million views, continued the party atmosphere and got the audience pm their feet during his high energy set that closed out the celebration.


The following songs reached # 1 on the charts.
#1 Awards:
1.    “Una Vez Más” –  Víctor Manuelle Ft. Reik
Writer:       Leo James, Xiomara Montalvo Vega    
Publisher:   Paso a Paso Music Publishing, Nuestra Musa Music Publishing
2.   “Javier de Los Llanos” –  Calibre 50
Writer:       Edén Muñoz
Publisher:   Dulce María Music
3.    “Tenerte” –  Luis Coronel 
Writer:       Luciano Luna
Publisher:   Del New Music
4.    “Pegado a Tu Boca” –  Grupo Treo 
Writer:       Danny Daniel Díaz Morales, David Tome Da Silva Caldeira
Publisher:   Songs of Tome Publishing, Treo Productions
5.   “Tus Latidos” – Calibre 50 
Writers:     Luciano Luna, Edén Muñoz
Publisher:   Dulce María Music
6.   “Mi Segunda Vida” – La Arrolladora Banda El Limón
Writer:       Fernando Camacho
Publisher:   FERCA Songs
7.   “Mi Último Deseo” – Banda Los Recoditos 
 Writer:      Rubén Esli Castellanos
 Publishers: Alvani Music Publishing, Editorial LGA
8.   “Hasta Que Salga El Sol” – Banda Los Recoditos
 Writer:      Rubén Esli Castellanos
 Publishers: Alvani Music Publishing, Editora de Ideas, Editorial LGA, Greatest Hits ARPA
9.   “Levantando Polvadera” – Voz de Mando
 Writer:      Karenia Cervantes
 Publisher:  International Matanga Music
10.  “El Perdón” – Nicky Jam Ft. Enrique Iglesias
Writers:    Nick Rivera Caminero, Cristhian  Mena, Juan Diego Medina
 Publisher:  La Industria Music Publishing, Sony ATV Sounds LLC
11.  “Contigo” – Calibre 50
 Writers:     Edén Muñoz, Jose Luis Roma
 Publishers:          Dulce Maria Music, Sony ATV Sounds LLC
12.  “Juntos” – Juanes
 Writer:      Fonseca
 Publishers: EMI Foray Music, Five Hundred South Songs
SESAC Latina had a phenomenal year thanks to the creative talent and accomplishments of its affiliated songwriters and publishers, and their continued presence at the top of the charts.
The winners of this year’s SESAC Latina YouTube Music Performance Award, in addition to Nicky Jam “El Perdón,” were J Balvin for his song “6AM” recorded by J Balvin ft with Farruko, and Josué Ricardo Benítez and Martin Castro for their song “Mi Padrino El Diablo,” recorded by Banda La Trakalosa De Monterrey.
For a complete list of winners, go to www.sesaclatina.com.