About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC News » News

Published: 11/2/2012

Thompson Square Win CMA “Duo of the Year”

Congratulations to Thompson Square on their “Duo of the Year” win at the “46th Annual CMA Awards” held in Nashville on Thursday, November 1. The duo, made up of husband and wife team Keifer and Shawna Thompson, are hot on the charts with new single, “If I Didn’t Have You.”

The CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by the 11,000 industry professional members of CMA, which was formed in 1958 as the first trade organization to promote an individual genre of music. The first “CMA Awards Banquet and Show” was held in 1967. The following year, the CMA Awards was broadcast on NBC television for the first time – making it the longest-running annual music awards program on network television. The Awards aired on NBC through 1971 and on the CBS Television Network from 1972 through 2005. The CMA Awards moved to ABC in 2006, where it will remain through 2021.