About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC News » News

Published: 5/16/2012

The 2012 Songwriters Hall of Fame Abe Olman Scholarship, Holly Prize and NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award Recipients Announced

Presentation To Take Place At The New Music Seminar Kick-Off During Music Week

New York, N.Y.- May 16, 2012- The Abe Olman Scholarships for Excellence in Songwriting, The Holly Prize and the NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award will be awarded during the kick off of the New Music Seminar on Sunday, June 17th at Webster Hall, SHOF President/CEO Linda Moran announced today.

The scholarships will be presented directly after the previously announced Songwriters-In-The-Round event, hosted and produced by SHOF inductee and legendary songwriter Desmond Child at the New Music Seminar.

This year’s Abe Olman Scholarship recipients are Jeremy Current, Lyle Divinsky, Jody Mulgrew, Bebe Rexha and Shea Rose.

Abe Olman, for whom the scholarship program is named, was both a major figure in the music publishing community and a songwriter himself, in addition to being one of the founders of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. The Abe Olman Scholarships given out each year are made possible by his family to encourage and support the careers of young songwriters. Former recipients include a host of the brightest young songwriter/artists, including John Legend. These songwriters are those who have risen to an exemplary standard and have been chosen by ASCAP, BMI and SESAC.

The Holly Prize, an award made possible by Songmasters and administered and juried by the Songwriters Hall of Fame as a tribute to the legacy of SHOF inductee Buddy Holly, will be awarded to Emily King. The Holly Prize recognizes and supports the “all-in songwriter,” an exceptionally talented and inspired young musician/singer/songwriter whose work exhibits the qualities of Holly's music.
The NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award is presented to a music composition student whose work holds great potential for success in the field, and embodies the art, craft, individuality and qualities of communication of the best songwriting. The 2012 recipient of the award will be Andrew (AJ) Smith.
SHOF members are eligible for a 20% registration discount on the full, three-day New Music Seminar with this promotional code: NMSNYSHOF2377. To purchase tickets, visit:ww.newmusicseminar.com">www.newmusicseminar.com

Attendance at Songwriters-In-The-Round and scholarship event requires registration at the New Music Seminar, or RSVP directly to Songwriters Hall of Fame:  April Anderson; aanderson@songhall.org; 212.957.9230

For media RSVP or more information on New Music Seminar, please contact:
WE + PR Workman Entertainment & Public Relations; (o) 212-256-0592
Pam Lipshitz; pamelal@workmanentertainment.com

About the New Music Seminar: June 17-19, 2012, New York City:
From the co-founder and director of the original legendary New Music Seminar comes a conference for the Next Music Business.  Rapidly changing music creation, exposure and monetization opportunities coupled with music fans changing music consumption habits are transforming the old "record business" into an entirely new industry.  The New Music Seminar is the meeting place of music visionaries, upstarts, and disruptors and where the old rules are broken and new ideas will hatch into a vital new music business.  For more information on this year’s event and the speakers attending go toww.NewMusicSeminar.com">www.NewMusicSeminar.com

About The Songwriters Hall of Fame:
The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships. There are fewer than 400 inductees who make up the impressive roster enshrined in the Hall of Fame. The list includes Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, Eddie Holland, Lamont Dozier and Brian Holland, Albert Hammond, Desmond Child, Paul Williams, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, John Fogerty, Bob Dylan, Isaac Hayes and David Porter, Richard and Robert Sherman, Carole King, Gerry Goffin, Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, James Brown, Bruce Springsteen, Jim Croce, Phil Collins, Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Loretta Lynn, Jimmy Webb, Van Morrison, Irving Burgie, Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton, Diane Warren, Garth Brooks, Leon Russell and Leonard Cohen among many others.
Full biographies and a complete list of past inductees are available at the Songwriters Hall of Fame's Virtual Museum site at http://songwritershalloffame.org/.
Online membership is quick and easy at http://songhall.org/join