About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC News » News

Published: 9/30/2011

SESAC’s Walt Wilkins Wins IBMA’s Song Of The Year

Congratulations to SESAC songwriter Walt Wilkins for Song Of The Year honors for “Trains I Missed” as recorded by Balsam Range at the International Bluegrass Music Awards held at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium.  Founded in 1985, the IBMA was created to honor outstanding achievements and pioneering efforts in music.

ABOUT Walt Wilkins:
San Antonio-born Walt Wilkins has been called a genius, more than once, and a writer the caliber of John Steinbeck and his voice as comfortable as a pair of old blue jeans, and he is, and has, all of that. His crafting of story-songs, hard-edged vocals to sing them and a plaintive guitar have made him a fixture of the Texas music scene (and Nashville before that). He’s put his magical touch on recordings by new and veteran artists, too many to count.  His songs have been recorded by the likes of Ricky Skaggs, Pat Green, Brandon Rhyder, Ty Herndon, Cory Morrow and  Kevin Welch

ABOUT the IBMA Awards:
Since the founding of IBMA in 1985, one of the fundamental purposes of the organization has been to honor outstanding achievements and pioneering efforts in the music.  The first such honors were the Distinguished Achievement Awards (then called the Certificate of Merit) first bestowed in 1986 and in 1990 the field of categories expanded.  Today, with almost two dozen annual awards, the IBMA represent the genre's most important honors.
What makes them important and unique is that the awards are determined by the recipient's peers and colleagues in the bluegrass music industry.