About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC News » News

Published: 6/13/2011

Jason Moran, Stefon Harris, Matt Wilson win at 2011 JJA Jazz Awards

The 15th annual JJA Jazz Awards celebrations were held Saturday, June 11, at City Winery, NYC with satellite parties in Arcata and Berkeley CA,  Boston, Chicago, Nashville, Phoenix, Portland, Seattle, Tallahassee,  and Washington DC.  Some 250 jazz journalists, musicians, record company activists and devotees attended the New York City event, with dozens at the other cities’ parties and more than 8,000 views recorded by UStream, where live video of the event was webcast.

SESAC congratulates Jason Moran on his win for Composer of the Year, Stefon Harris on being named Mallet Intrumentalist of the Year and Matt Wilson for his win of Drummer of the Year!

ABOUT the JJA Jazz Awards:
The Jazz Awards is a fundraiser for the JJA and recouped more than the considerable amount of funds that goes into creating an initiative of its size and scope.
The Jazz Journalists Association (JJA) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation, promoting the interests of writers, photographers, broadcasters and new media professionals covering jazz. The JJA supports the creation and dissemination of accurate, balanced, ethical and informative journalism on all of jazz’s genres; the growth, development and education of the jazz audience and the dissemination of information pertaining to jazz to the general public, by providing forums for the discussion of jazz-related issues and events, fostering the development of journalistic and presentation skills among new journalists and the continuing development of such skills in journalists already engaged in the field.