About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC News » News

Published: 10/8/2009

SESAC Congratulates our Nashville Music Award winners

SESAC is proud to congratulate Hillary Scott of Lady Antebellum, "The Time Of My Life" songwriter Regie Hamm and Tammy Rogers of acclaimed bluegrass band, The Steeldrivers on their wins at last night's Nashville Music Awards!  Lady Antebellum won for Best New Artist and Regie Hamm was victorious in the category of Song of the Year for his hit that was recorded by American Idol's David Cook.  The Steeldrivers took home the award for Bluegrass Album of the Year for their self-titled CD.  The Nashville Music Awards is presented by Leadership Music in partnership with the music festival Next Big Nashville and recognizes outstanding contributions in all genres of music.

Lady Antebellum

"The Time Of My Life" written by Regie Hamm (Recorded by David Cook)

The Steeldrivers, The Steeldrivers on Rounder Records

Here I Stand, April Rucker, on One Staj Music Group

About the Nashville Music Awards:
Presented by Leadership Music in partnership with music festival and conference Next Big Nashville (NBN), the Nashville Music Awards were established to recognize outstanding contributions in all genres of music and to celebrate the diversity and quality of artists and music professionals who call Nashville their home.

After a welcome from Mayor Karl Dean, Leadership Music executive director Kira Florita and board member Robert K. Oermann, winners were announced in 19 categories by NMA nominating committee co-chairs Jason Moon Wilkins, Director and Owner of Next Big Nashville, Tracy Gershon and Oermann.

This year marks the first partnership between Leadership Music and Next Big Nashville for this awards presentation, held on the opening night of the NBN festival. The NMAs previously were produced from 1995 through 2000 by Leadership Music. The 2009 winners were chosen by popular vote via online balloting. Eligible recordings or projects must have been active in the marketplace between January 1, 2008 and June 30, 2009 and NMA awards are limited to persons and organizations residing in Davidson County and surrounding counties.

The Nashville Music Award trophy was designed and donated by George P. Johnson, one of the foremost experience marketing agencies in the world, now with a facility in Nashville. It is crafted from translucent acrylic to reflect the spirit and creativity that the winners represented.