About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC News » News

Published: 9/18/2009

Gurf Morlix awarded Instrumentalist of the Year at 8th Annual Americana Music Association Honers & Awards Show


Gurf MorlixCongratulations to multi-instrumentalist/producer Gurf Morlix for being honored with the Instrumentalist of the Year award at the 8th Annual Americana Music Association Honors & Awards Show.

The Awards are held at the legendary Ryman Auditorium.  Performing in celebration of lifetime achievement awards were John Fogerty, Ray Benson and Asleep At The Wheel, and Sam Bush.   John Prine and Nanci Griffith sang a duet in honor of recipient Jim Rooney.  The AMA's annual awards show, hosted by Jim Lauderdale, was also a showcase for both established artists and the next generation of stars, all contributing fresh material to the Americana music scene.  Performers included Rodney Crowell, The Gourds, Raul Malo, The Flatlanders,  Reckless Kelly, Buddy Miller, Patty Griffin and John Fogerty.

The Americana Music Association's annual festival and conference, featuring panels and approximately 100 performances by legends and the next generation of stars, runs through Saturday at venues throughout Nashville.  The organization celebrated its tenth anniversary with a formal announcement of the establishment of an Americana Grammy category.

About The Americana Music Association: The Americana Music Association is a professional trade organization whose mission is to provide a forum for the advocacy of Americana music and to promote public awareness of the genre.