About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
Bookmark and Share

Pop Awards

Rico Love performs during SESAC Pop Awards.

SESAC's 18th Annual Pop Awards

SESAC hosted its 18th Annual Pop Awards at The New York Public Library on May 5. Charli XCX (PRS) captured top honors at the event, taking home both Songwriter of the Year and Song of the Year for the hit “I Love It,” as recorded by Icona Pop feat. Charli XCX. Recorded by the Swedish synthpop duo and featuring Charli XCX, “I Love It” topped the charts and went on to sell over 2.6 million downloads, making it one of the biggest hits of 2013. Publisher of the Year honors went to Sony ATV Sounds.

Charli XCX with SESAC’s Jamie Dominguez, Linda Lorence Critelli, Pat Collins and Trevor Gale.  Charli XCX took home Songwriter of the Year and Song of the Year honors for “I Love It.”

On the performances side, American Authors hyped the crowd with a rousing version of their pop smash, “Best Day Of My Life.” The group has seen unprecedented success with their breakout single and new album, Oh, What A Life. Rico Love, who won Songwriter of the Year for the past three years, performed at the awards for the first time with his song, “They Don’t Know,” from his newly released Discrete Luxury album, which showed him to be as gifted an artist as he is songwriter. And Hezekiah Walker brought down the house with a roof-raising version of his song “Every Praise” which was awarded earlier in the evening.

See more photos, videos and list of awardees.

Back to Articles