About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC News » SESAC Magazine - Fall 2011 » New York Music Awards
Bookmark and Share

New York Music Awards

New York Music Awards SESAC Hosts 15th Annual New York Music Awards

Rico Love Named Songwriter of the Year 
“Need You Now” Wins Song of the Year Honors
EMI Foray Music Named Publisher of the Year 
Robert Johnson 100th Birthday Celebrated

SESAC awarded Rico Love with top honors at the 15th Annual SESAC New York Music Awards when he was named Songwriter of the Year at the event which was held May 11, at Manhattan’s IAC Building. Hillary Scott of multi-platinum powerhouse trio Lady Antebellum took home Song of the Year honors for her mega-hit, “Need You Now.”

SESAC Publisher of the Year honors went to EMI Foray Music.

SESAC also celebrated the 100th birthday of music pioneer and undisputed King of the Delta Blues, Robert Johnson. After a riveting video tribute documenting Johnson’s career and accomplishments, Ronny Drayton, a highly accomplished studio musician with stints with a multitude of high profile artists, hit the stage performing Johnson classic “Love In Vain” to an enthralled audience. Robert Johnson’s grandson, Michael, traveled from his home in Mississippi to accept the posthumous award on behalf of the Johnson family.
The 2011 awards celebration drew more than 400 songwriters, publishers and industry professionals. The star-studded attendees included Love, Hillary Scott, Kasseem “Swizz Beatz” Dean, Bryan-Michael Cox, Chrisette Michele and Traci Hale among many others. There were more than 40 songwriter and publisher award recipients in the categories of Pop, R&B/Hip-Hop, and Rock.

photo captions:
| 1 | SESAC’s Cappriccieo Scates and Linda Lorence Critelli, honored songwriter Traci Hale and SESAC’s Trevor Gale.
| 2 | SESAC’s Trevor Gale welcomes television personality Egypt Sherrod to the festivities.
| 3 | Song of the Year recipient Hillary Scott (for “Need You Now”) and Songwriter of the Year Rico Love show their appreciation.
| 4 | SESAC’s Ira Smith and Stephen Swid, awards presenter Sylvia Rhone and SESAC’s Trevor Gale.  | 5 | SESAC’s Trevor Gale, “Empire State Of Mind” writer Angela Hunte, honored writer Bryan-Michael Cox, singer Chrisette Michele and SESAC’s Linda Lorence Critelli.
| 6 | SESAC’s Trevor Gale and honored songwriter Swizz Beatz.
| 7 |  SESAC’s Publisher Of The Year: EMI Foray Music: EMI Music Publishing’s Leotis Clyburn; EMI Music Publishing’s Ben Vaughn; SESAC’s Pat Collins; SESAC’s Linda Lorence Critelli, EMI Music Publishing’s Big Jon Platt and SESAC’s Trevor Gale.

Back to Articles