About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC Events » SESAC Event News

Published: 5/12/2009

SESAC Holds 13th Annual Music Awards

Greg Curtis Named Songwriter of the Year

"The Time Of My Life" Wins Song of the Year Honors

Songwriter/producer Greg Curtis took home top honors when he was named Songwriter of the Year at SESAC’s 13th annual New York Music Awards held May 12 at Manhattan ’s IAC Building . The Song of the Year trophy was awarded to multi-talented songwriter Regie Hamm for his song, “The Time Of My Life,” a multi-week #1 smash for American Idol’s David Cook.

SESAC Publisher of the Year honors went to Universal Music Publishing Group.

A respected and popular musician, Curtis has also become of music’s most in-demand songwriters/producers working from everyone from Destiny’s Child, Dionne Warwick, Jennifer Hudson, Joe and Whitney Houston. Propelled by his songwriting and production work on a variety of projects throughout the years, Curtis has recently seen significant success of late with major hits by Yolanda Adams including the smash “Victory” which earned him a GRAMMY award.  Most recently, Keyshia Cole realized huge hits with the Greg Curtis-penned songs “Love” and “I Remember” which spent a spectacular seven weeks at the #1 spot on Billboard’s R&B/Hip Hop’s chart. 

Regie Hamm and Nikeshia Briscoe pose on the red carpet.

Greg Curtis get emotional after winning SESAC's Songwriter Of The Year Award.

The night big winners celebrate with SESAC executives.  Pictured (left to right): SESAC's Trevor Gale and Linda Lorence Critelli, Song of the Year winner Regie Hamm, Songwriter of the Year recipient Greg Curtis and SESAC's Pat Collins.

Greg Curtis is interviewed by SESAC TV as Bryan Michael Cox watches.

Paul Shaffer presents Chrisette Michele with the SESAC Ascension Award.

Chrisette Michele, who's new CD Epiphany debuted at #1 on the charts, performs for the crowd.

Bale'wa Muhammad, Bryan Michael Cox, Chanj and Greg Curtis pose on the red carpet.

SESAC's James Leach, Chris Taylor Brown of Trapt, SESAC's Linda Lorence Critelli and Trevor Gale.

Songwriter of the Year Greg Curtis and Song of the Year winner Regie Hamm show off their precious metal.

(Left to right): Greg Curtis, SESAC's Pat Collins, Pam Cox, Bryan-Michael Cox, Stephen Swid and Trevor Gale hit the SESAC red carpet prior to the awards.

SESAC's Pat Collins and James Leach, Chris Brown of Trapt, SESAC's Linda Lorence Critelli & Trevor Gale.

Members of group Day26, Bryan-Michael Cox and SESAC's Trevor Gale celebrate at the New York Awards after party.

L-R: Linda Lorence-Critelli, SESAC Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations; Pat Collins, SESAC President/COO; Jennifer Blakeman, Universal Music Publishing Group Senior Vice President, Creative Affairs; James Cheney, Universal Music Publishing Group, Director, Creative Affairs; Evan Lamberg, Universal Music Publishing Group Executive Vice President of Creative, East Coast; Paris Hill, Universal Music Publishing Group Creative Assistant; and Trevor Gale, SESAC Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations.
SESAC's James Leach with Bale'wa Muhammad

The Regie Hamm-penned “The Time Of My Life” beat out thousands of other song entries in the “Second Annual American Idol Songwriting Competition” debuting at #3 on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart making it the highest new entry on that chart for 2008.  The single held the #1 position at mainstream AC Radio for 16 weeks and became the biggest selling coronation single in America Idol’s history.   Hamm , who has enjoyed a successful career as a recording artist in his own right has enjoyed more than 400 cuts with over 20 of them hitting number one on the charts. Hamm also has multiple Grammy® and Dove Award nominations as both a producer and writer.

One of the evening’s many highlights was the presentation of the Ascension Award given to dazzling newcomer Chrisette Michele in recognition of the significant creative growth and musical success she’s experienced in the last couple of years.  Michele’s debut project, I Am, sold over 500,000 copies propelling the songstress in garnering two GRAMMY nominations as well as a nod for “Best New Artist” at the BET Awards.

The evening also provided stellar performances from Chrisette Michele as well as from Regie Hamm who performed his award-winning “The Time Of My Life” to the packed house.

The 2009 awards celebration drew more than 500 songwriters, publishers and industry professionals. The star-studded attendees including Chrisette Michele, Nate “Danja” Hills, Bryan-Michael Cox, Swizz Beatz, Keyshia Cole, Mya, La Burja, Day26 and Danity Kane among many others.  There were more than 50 songwriter and publisher award recipients in the categories of Pop, R&B/Hip-Hop, and Rock.

Billboard Magazine and SPIN Magazine were the event’s primary sponsor.  Media sponsors included Billboard, SPIN, Cosmopolitan and VIBE magazines.

Established in 1930, SESAC is a service organization created to assist both the creators of music and music users through timely, efficient royalty collection and music licensing. SESAC maintains a diversified repertory that includes virtually all genres of music. Headquartered in Nashville , the company also has offices in New York , Los Angeles , Atlanta , Miami and London (www.sesac.com).


Songwriter of the Year:
Greg Curtis
Song of the Year:
“The Time Of My Life”
Recorded by David Cook
Written by: Regie Hamm

SESAC Publisher of the Year:
Universal Tunes

 “I Remember”
Artist: Keyshia Cole
Songwriter: Greg Curtis
Publisher: Cardraygee Music Publishing
Universal Tunes

Artist: Danity Kane
Songwriter: Micayle “The Mack” McKinney
Publisher: Notting Hill Songs USA

“Love Like This”
Artist: Natasha Bedingfield
Songwriter: Rico Love
Publisher: Xavier Miles Music
Foray Music Inc.

“4 Minutes”
Artist: Madonna featuring Justin Timberlake
Songwriter: Nate “Danja” Hills
Publisher: Danjahandz Muzik
WBM Music Corp.

“Lolli Lolli (Pop That Body)”
Artist: Three 6 Mafia
Songwriter: Darin “SUPERPOWER” Baker
Publisher: Amalek Publishing

“The Time Of My Life”
Artist: David Cook
Songwriter: Regie Hamm
Publisher: 19 Music Publishing

Artist:  Flobots
Songwriter(s): James Laurie, Mackenzie Roberts, Andrew Guerrero, Stephen Brackett, Jesse Walker & Kenneth Ortiz
Publisher: Flobots Music Publishing
Sony ATV Rhythm

“Ten Ton Brick”
Artist: Hurt
Songwriter(s): Jonathan Wince, Joshua Ansley
Publisher: Herecy Songs Ltd.
Friends of the Renaissance

 Artist: Britney Spears
Songwriter: Nikeshia “K. Briscoe” Briscoe
Publisher: Outsyder Music Entertainment Publishing

“Last Time”
Artist: Trey Songz
Songwriter(s): Bryan-Michael Cox & Kendrick Dean
Publisher: December First Publishing Group Inc.
Songs In The Key Of B Flat Inc.
The Deans List
Noontime South Inc.
W B M Music Corp.

“The River”
Artist: Noel Gourdin
Songwriter: Bale’wa Muhammad
Publisher: Jahqae Joints
Universal Tunes

“Who’s Going Home With You Tonight”         
Artist: Trapt
Songwriter: Christopher Brown
Publisher: Traptism
W B M Music Corp.
“Time To Pretend”
Artist: MGMT
Songwriter(s): Andrew VanWyngarden & Ben Goldwasser
Publisher: Old Man Future
Sadguitarius Music

Watch Julie Chang's Report, MyFox NY