About SESACSESAC Writers PublishersSESAC LicensingRepertory SearchSESAC NewsContact SESAC
home » SESAC Events » SESAC Event News

Published: 5/12/2011

SESAC Hosts 15th Annual NY Music Awards

Rico Love Named Songwriter of the Year
"Need You Now" Wins Song of the Year Honors
EMI Foray Music Named Publisher of the Year
Robert Johnson 100th Birthday Celebrated

SESAC awarded Rico Love with top honors at the “15th Annual SESAC New York Music Awards” when he was named Songwriter of the Year at the event which was held May 11, at Manhattan’s IAC Building . Hillary Scott of multi-platinum powerhouse trio Lady Antebellum took home Song of the Year honors for her mega-hit, “Need You Now”.

SESAC Publisher of the Year honors went to EMI Foray Music.

Love has enjoyed an extraordinary year by anyone’s estimation.  One of pop music’s most prolific and diverse creative talents, Love has hit the top of the charts in 2010  with “There Goes My Baby” and “Hey Daddy (Daddy’s Home)” by Usher (featuring Plies) as well as “Just A Dream” by Nelly and “Hello Good Morning” (co-written with fellow SESAC hit-maker Nate “Danja” Hills) and recorded by Diddy-Dirty Money (featuring T.I. and Rick Ross) and “Sweet Dreams” by Beyonce.  The busy entrepreneur added yet another credential to his resume as he recently launched Division1 Records, a joint venture with Universal Music Group. 

Hillary Scott, a member of the multi-platinum group, Lady Antebellum, has seen extraordinary acclaim of late especially with the unprecedented success of “Need You Now.”  The title track of Lady Antebellum’s second album, is a moving exploration of  the regret of a lost lover and the yearning to reconnect. “Need You Now” was certified triple Platinum after spending 5 consecutive weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard Country Songs chart. The song dominated pop radio stations across the country landing at No. 1 in multiple formats and claiming the No. 1 spot on iTunes’ singles chart in all genres.
One of the evening’s many highlights was the celebration of 100th birthday of music pioneer and undisputed King of the Delta Blues, Robert Johnson.  Born in 1911 in Hazlehurst, Miss., Johnson was one of the most influential voices in American music influencing a plethora of today’s most heralded artists including Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, Keith Richards, Keb' Mo and Jack White to name a few.  Creating such classics as “Cross Road Blues,” “I Believe I’ll Dust My Broom” and “Love In Vain,” the artist infused his music with raw power and intensity.  Johnson disciple Eric Clapton once observed that Johnson’s music was unlike any ever heard.  “It was almost as if felt things so acutely he found it unbearable,” Clapton remarked.  After a riveting video tribute documenting Johnson’s career and accomplishments, Ronny Drayton, a highly accomplished studio musician hit the stage performing Johnson classic "Love In Vain" to an enthralled audience.  Robert Johnson’s grandson, Michael, traveled from his home in Mississippi to accept the posthumous award on behalf of the Johnson family.
The 2011 awards celebration drew more than 400 songwriters, publishers and industry professionals. The star-studded attendees including Love, Hillary Scott, Kasseem “Swizz Beatz” Dean, Bryan-Michael Cox, Nate “Danja” Hills, Chrisette Michele and Traci Hale among many others.  There were more than 40 songwriter and publisher award recipients in the categories of Pop, R&B/Hip-Hop, and Rock.

Billboard Magazine and SPIN Magazine were the event’s primary sponsors. 

SESAC's Pat Collins, Michael Johnson, SESAC's Stephen Swid and Trevor Gale

SESAC's Trevor Gale, Angela Hunte, Bryan-Michael Cox, Chrisette Michele, SESAC's Linda Lorence Critelli

SESAC's Trevor Gale and Swizz Beatz

EMI's Jon Platt and Ben Vaughn, SESAC's Tim Fink, Hillary Scott, SESAC's Pat Collins, Linda Lorence Critelli and Trevor Gale

SESAC's Cappriccieo Scates, Sylvia Rhone, Rico Love, SESAC's Trevor Gale and Linda Lorence Critelli

Hillary Scott and Rico Love

Check out more photos from the event on